GETTING YOUR PROVISIONAL LICENSE IN CALIFORNIA
COMPLETE YOUR ONLINE DRIVERS ED
Are you at least 15 years old? Then you want to start your DMV approved Drivers Ed Direct online drivers ed course.
Upon completion of this course, you receive form DL-400C that you present at the DMV in order to take the permit test.
Get Started Today!
TAKE YOUR PERMIT TEST AT THE DMV
Make an appointment at the DMV, fill out application form DL44, take the written traffic law test, and pass to earn your permit (you must be at least 15½ to do this).
Drivers Ed Direct will provide you with form DL 44 upon completion of the online drivers ed course.
SIGN-UP FOR BEHIND THE WHEEL TRAINING
Sign up for your driving lessons with a licensed driving school, such as Drivers Ed Direct.
The state of California requires that all minors take at least 6-hours of drivers training if they want to earn their license.
TAKE YOUR 1ST LESSON WITH A LICENSED INSTRUCTOR
Once you have your permit, you must take your first driving lesson with a licensed instructor before practicing with a parent or guardian!
PRACTICE 6 MONTHS WITH YOUR PERMIT
Now you must practice 6 months with a parent, guardian, or licensed driving instructor. Over this 6-month period you must complete at least 50 hours of driving, with 10 of those 50 hours
being at nighttime.
TAKE YOUR DMV DRIVE TEST
Make an appointment at the DMV, show proof of drivers training completion, your signed permit (by parent, guardian, or instructor),
valid vehicle registration, & insurance. Ask about our DMV Test package and take the test in our vehicle!
Just follow those 6 simple steps above and you're on your way towards becoming a licensed driver! Of course, California driving laws and regulations change from time to time,
so be sure to visit your local DMV website for the most up to date and complete information available regarding obtaining your driver’s permit and license. Here’s some useful links you
might want to check out: